Full House (and We Even Have a Jessie!)

13 Aug

The in-laws are a comin’.  They left Florida early yesterday morning (Tuesday) and should be arriving later this afternoon.  Quite the trip, and that just means quite the love.  As much as I would like to take full-on excitement that their intentions were to drive so they could stay as long as they’d like, truthfully, they are driving so that they can drive back home with their new puppy!  For Fathers Day this year Mike made the decision to get his Father a new dog.  Over a year ago they lost their Irish Setter, Morgan (aka Morg Mutt), and both Pops and Grammy have been unable to regain their chipper attitudes.  Plus, they have been caught (on several occassions) searching the breeder websites of English Setters. English setters are a touch different than an Irish Setter, but ultimately I think they just wanted a bit of a change—they’ve had countless Irish Setters and I think Morgan took the cake.  So instead of trying to ‘replace’ her, another breed was just what they needed.  Anywoo, Mike and I were able to locate a breeder just North of Dallas, touch base and discover a new litter was due around the time they would be coming for Gage’s 2nd birthday.  What better timing than that?   So after 10 weeks of anxiuosly waiting and enjoying regular picture updates from the breeder, we were ready to pick up Jessie!  So on Saturday, after a family 5K, Mike and I left Gage with our fabulous sitter, Mindy, and made the trek up to Winnsboro, TX to pick up beautiful baby girl Jessie.  Let me begin by saying that we should have waited until Pops got here, and that is a lucky thing that Jessie is sooo darn cute… who knew that a puppy was always soooo thirsty and that their bladder only releases when inside… on the very minimal amounts of available carpet?!  I definitely forgot what its like to have a puppy, and I will not soon forget as Jessie will be here until the 28th of August.  Luckily, Pops will be here to dote on her, and Mike and I will be able to (hopefully) sleep more than 3 hours at one time.    As I said before, and will continue to tell myself, its lucky shes so perfectly adorable (and that her pelt is not worth anything).  

Jessie

Trotting with Tots group is amazingly awesome and exhausting and incredible all at the same time—and I wouldnt have it any other way.  I have my days when I REALLY dont want to jog because lets face it, driving all around Austin and being ‘forced’ to jog 3 times a week is A LOT.  Take this morning for example, Jessie had a messy #2-related accident in her kennel as I was closing the front door (and Mike just cleaned her kennel last night), Gage had a rough morning and needed more milk than ever before (probably because he was up 3 times the previous night crying and was dehydrated), and Killian requires the most ridiculous regiment of medicine because of her current hotspot/allergy condition (something along the lines of 3/4 a pill in the AM, 1/2 pill in the middle of the day, spray hotspot with this solution and then at dinner give her another 1/4 pill… seriously)…. Needless to say, we were over 20 min late (MY pet peeve), and to top it all off, I got a flat tire on my stroller when we were exactly halfway done with the jog.  It can only get better… it can only get better…  But these ladies and our kiddos certainly keep me motivated, and the smile never leaves my face when I am with them.  Its fun to hear everyone’s stories about how they met their husbands, where they are from, what they did when they first found out they were prego, birthing stories (yes, I LOVE hearing about them), kids quirks, etc.  Everyday is a new day, and everyone’s stories are all so different—however, we’ve all been led to meet in this running group I created, and I think thats pretty cool.  We have been in existence for 3 months and 1 week as of today, there are 60 active members as of this morning, we have had 39 meetups and have logged an impressive 125+ miles with our mini-mes.  Go us!  Only a few members have left our group from the beginning due to work or school schedules–Ive touched base with them all so I could get their feedback, and no one sounded like it was something they wanted to do.  Id say we are doing quite well and I am SUPER thankful to have met such a kickass group of women. 

Callison & Amelia at the park after our jog

Callison & Amelia at the park after our jog

Thank you, Carolyn, for the most amazing voicemail the other day–it couldnt have come at a better time.  You are a true friend, and I love that you do so much without expecting anything in return.    So sorry, but you’re being called out. 😉  There arent enough people like you in this world.  You inspire me too.  I love you.

My parents will be arriving in exactly 7 days.  I cannot wait for them to get here, and show them around this sweet, sweet city!!!!!  I miss them SO much and we have had so many visitors–seems like they’ll be one of the last, but should have been one of the first (eh hem)….   It’ll be hot, and Im sure they’ll be melting, but they can see the majority of the city from inside my nice A/Ced car.  Amazing how their two daughters chose to live in such drastically different climates.  And speaking of melting, when Lindsay & Double Ds get here in September, they may actually melt.  Even 80 seems warm to those Alaskans, so I think they’re in for a rude awakening (and then tack on another 20-25 degrees to that misery).  Perhaps Elsa can come and build them a snow cloud like she did for Olaf.  

 

Meet Olaf.

Meet Olaf.

What else?  We have snakes in our backyard.  Texas has HUGE red-headed centipedes that make Midwest centipedes look like sweet, fuzzy friends.  Its hot here and it does actually get humid as well.  My Mom won the super senior championship tournament at Panther Creek so shes the new woman’s club champ of 2014.  Texas has the largest crepe myrtle ‘trees’ Ive ever seen, and they release droplets of water regularly if you’re sitting under them.  Very odd, yet refreshing at the same time.  Grandparents send way too many clothes for their grandchildren even if you mention your child’s overflowing closet on several occasions.  Ryan Rice, my nephew by marriage, left for college today (Case Western).  I feel old hearing that, so I cant imagine how his parents must feel.  Is Gage really already 2?!   I am in love with Olaf.  Best. Character. Ever.

 

Red Headed Centipede. YUCK!!!!

Red Headed Centipede. YUCK!!!!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Full House (and We Even Have a Jessie!)”

  1. Lindsay August 18, 2014 at 8:14 PM #

    I won’t mention the snakes in your backyard to Jedd. I suggest you don’t either, or he may not show up in Austin. Seriously.

Leave a comment